How Subscriptions Work

« back to index

General information

Subscriptions can be set up by you or your clients to automatically pay for recurring invoices.

When set up, the client's credit card information is saved on servers of selected payment provider and charged periodically as per configuration of the payment plan.

UCRM then receives information about payment and automatically attaches it to unpaid invoices of the client and converts any overpayment to credit.

Client Side

  • Client can create subscription in Client zone (on condition the feature is enabled in System → Billing → Invoicing).
  • After clicking the "new subscription" button, client can fill in the amount to pay, period and start date.
  • The client is then redirected to online payment gateway where the payment provider can be selected (PayPal, Stripe or Authorize.Net).
  • Then, a new payment plan is created in UCRM. It can be marked as inactive for some providers, until they confirm successful creation on their side.
  • The plan can be cancelled by the client at any time in Client zone or by admin on client detail page.
  • Payment plan is cancelled automatically when the client is archived / deleted or the subscriptions feature is turned off - see the Automatic Cancellation section below.

PayPal

  • After choosing PayPal as the subscription provider, the PayPal payment plan is created via API and the client is redirected to PayPal.
  • When there, the client must provide the payment plan agreement.
  • The first payment is processed on the selected start date (if the start date is today, then immediately).
  • Future payments are processed automatically based on the payment plan period.
  • Note that the maximum period for subscriptions is 12 months.

Stripe

  • After choosing Stripe as the subscription provider, the client is prompted to enter credit card information.
  • The credit card information is sent directly to Stripe servers. UCRM does not store any sensitive data. Stripe only sends an identification token back to UCRM.
  • Using this token, the client is subscribed to our payment plan and the first payment will be processed on selected start date (if the start date is today, then immediately).
  • Future payments are processed automatically based on the payment plan period.

Authorize.Net

  • After choosing Authorize.Net as the subscription provider, the client is redirected to payment profile management page (hosted by Authorize.Net).
  • When there, the client must provide credit card details and billing address.
  • After this is provided, UCRM obtains a payment profile ID from Authorize.Net servers and creates a payment plan.
  • The first payment is processed on the selected start date (if the start date is today, then at approximately 2:00 AM PST).
  • Future payments are processed automatically based on the payment plan period.
  • The UCRM downloads information about processed payments every 2 hours.

Admin Side

Payment Attaching

When provider confirms the payment, UCRM will attach the payment to client's unpaid invoices automatically. If there is any overpayment it's turned into credit.

Automatic Cancellation

Subscriptions will be automatically cancelled in the following cases:

  • Client is archived.
  • Client is deleted.
  • Subscriptions feature is disabled in settings.
  • Period of linked service is changed (applies only to Linked subscriptions).

Email notification is sent to the client if any of these instances occur and their subscription is cancelled. Text of the notification can be changed in System → Customization → Email templates.

Setup

For information on how to setup this feature, see Setting up Online Payment Gateways guide.

Subscription types

Custom subscriptions

Custom subscriptions allow setting custom amount, payment frequency and start date when creating it. The amount will never be changed automatically.

Linked subscriptions

This type of subscription is linked to client's service. Start date can be changed when creating it, but amount and frequency are fixed to be the same as the service.

When service price changes in any way, the subscription amount is updated accordingly. This includes for example, adding a surcharge, changing taxes, upgrading to different service plan and more.
Notification email is sent to client, when this happens. You can change the text of the notification or turn it off in System → Customization → Email templates and System → Customization → Notification settings.

In addition, subscription is cancelled automatically when the service period changes. It can be created again for the new period after the change.

Warning

This feature is not available for all payment providers. If you don't have supported provider configured, you will not be able to create linked subscriptions.

Currently supported payment providers:

  • Stripe

Related articles

« back to index

Access denied

You do not have permission to view the requested page.

Page not found

The requested page couldn't be located.